First Orion Number Registration: How It Works
First Orion Free Number Registration is a no-cost program. A business creates a Customer Portal account, then submits its business details and phone numbers for verification. First Orion’s FAQ says the process “verifies your business and ensures proper number labeling across T-Mobile and AT&T.” First Orion is the call-analytics company whose scoring informs T-Mobile’s “Scam Likely” label.
Some operations register numbers for other businesses: a BPO, a dialer platform, a reseller. First Orion is the channel that names them. Its FAQ says the Business Number Registration API “enables businesses and BPOs to automate high-volume number registrations.” The joint Free Caller Registry turns that case away by its own rule. We quote that rule in full in our Free Caller Registry explainer.
A disclosure first. SIPNEX holds its own FCC carrier license and its own STIR/SHAKEN certificate, signs outbound calls at A-level, and folds registration guidance into onboarding. Every channel, sorted by caller type, is in our business phone number registration guide.
A note on sources. Every First Orion quote below comes from firstorion.com pages we read on 2026-09-01 and re-read on 2026-09-03. Other sources carry their own dates.
What First Orion is
First Orion is a call-analytics company. Wireless networks use its scoring to decide how an incoming call is labeled on the handset. On T-Mobile that verdict surfaces as “Scam Likely.” Hiya’s own blog states the pairing in its engine-to-carrier map (blog.hiya.com, 2023-08-02): Hiya for AT&T, TNS for Verizon, First Orion for T-Mobile.
First Orion’s frequently asked questions page answers “Which carrier networks does First Orion support?” It names “T-Mobile, Verizon, Boost Mobile, and AT&T” among the carriers it supports.
Registration is narrower. The FAQ says the free program “verifies your business and ensures proper number labeling across T-Mobile and AT&T.” The API path is narrower still: T-Mobile only. The exact wording is in the API section below. So First Orion has three different scopes: its carrier footprint, its free registration (T-Mobile and AT&T) and its API (T-Mobile only). Each is stated on its own First Orion page — the footprint and the registration scope in the FAQ, the API scope on the product page.
The FAQ also explains where labels come from: “Spam/scam tags are assigned by carrier analytics systems that evaluate calling patterns, complaint data, and behavioral signals in real-time.” The same engines power the call blocking tools carriers offer their subscribers. Registration gives those engines a verified identity to score; it does not switch the scoring off.
First Orion also jointly backs the Free Caller Registry, which is “brought to you by” First Orion, Hiya and TNS. A registry submission reaches First Orion indirectly; a First Orion account reaches it directly. How the score itself is built is covered in our guide to caller ID reputation.
How First Orion Free Number Registration works
First Orion’s Free Number Registration product page is headed “Register Your Numbers for Free.” It lays out three steps. The form fields it labels are Business Name, Industry, Business Website, Business Phone Number and Business Address. The sequence, as the page describes it:
Step 1 — create an account. The product page lists step one as “Create a new account or log in to our Customer Portal.” Its signup link opens portal.firstorion.com. The API path later depends on this same account. First Orion’s developer guide (developer.firstorion.com, read 2026-09-03) says a website is “required for vetting with some networks.” So create the account under the business name and website that will be vetted.
Step 2 — enter business information and opt in. The product page words step two as “Provide your business information and opt-in to share your information with carrier networks.” That opt-in is the consent that lets First Orion pass your profile to the networks that label calls.
Step 3 — add numbers for verification. The product page gives step three as “Add your business phone numbers for verification.” On the portal side, the FAQ says numbers are registered “after verifying your legitimate ownership of the numbers” through “automated verification processes.” It does not spell out how that ownership is checked. The one published standard is for the API. First Orion’s API announcement (firstorion.com/blog, 2026-06-08) states: “Phone numbers without verified ownership or authorization will not pass the vetting process and will not be registered.” Enter only numbers your business has the right to use and actually calls from.
How long does it take? By First Orion’s own wording, registration is confirmed “within minutes” and completed “within days.” Its product page says “Getting started is completed in less than 5 minutes through 3 easy steps” and “Within days, your number will be registered.” Its FAQ says “most businesses receive registration confirmation within minutes.” Those are three moments: signup, confirmation, registration. First Orion publishes nothing more precise. So plan on “within days” before you assume a handset display has changed. Our caller ID test walkthrough shows how to check on real devices.
Getting into the First Orion Customer Portal
The First Orion Customer Portal is at portal.firstorion.com. That is where the product page’s “Register for Free” button lands. Step one of the free flow is worded “Create a new account or log in to our Customer Portal.” A business that has never registered has no account to log into. It starts at First Orion’s Free Number Registration product page, where that first step creates the account.
What “registered” does and does not change
Registration is identity, not a whitelist. First Orion’s FAQ says “Registering with First Orion enables you to influence how your calls are labeled by carriers.” The information you provide “helps carriers to determine a proper label for your outbound calls.” Influence and help — not a guarantee. The FAQ then adds: “Combine registration with calling best practices (proper timing, consent, frequency) to improve your number’s label.” It points to AFFIRM, its paid monitoring product.
Call blocking is a separate outcome from the label. First Orion’s FAQ lists “potential blocking by carrier networks” among the results of a poor number reputation. It sits next to “decreased answer rates as calls get marked as spam” and “damaged customer trust and brand reputation.” Registration influences the label. The calling behavior behind the score is what moves the rest.
The joint Free Caller Registry submits to First Orion as one of its three engines. It publishes the same limit in its own terms: no guaranteed redress, and registration data never used for Caller ID Name. Both sentences are quoted in the business phone number registration hub. The name system itself is in our CNAM lookup explainer.
Re-registering does nothing. The Free Caller Registry’s home page (freecallerregistry.com/fcr/, read 2026-09-01) states “There is no need to register any number more than once.” Hiya’s blog (blog.hiya.com, 2023-08-02) states “repeatedly registering your numbers is not a solution.”
When a registered number still shows “Scam Likely,” file T-Mobile’s own “Report Improperly Identified Calls” form. Then fix the behavior that earned the score. The sequence is in our Potential Spam label fix playbook.
Attestation is the other input analytics engines weigh. It is set at the trunk, not filed in a portal. A partial (B) signature is scored by the analytics engines as a lower-trust signal. No carrier has published a specific answer-rate gap for it. Why a reseller trunk usually cannot sign A is covered in A-level versus B-level attestation and reseller versus carrier attestation. SIPNEX signs at A-level on its own certificate and holds a filing in the FCC Robocall Mitigation Database.
The API path for BPOs, dialer vendors and providers
First Orion’s FAQ says the Business Number Registration API “enables businesses and BPOs to automate high-volume number registrations programmatically.” First Orion’s developer documentation describes the data model in two sentences: “Organizations have the ability to register and manage businesses” and “Businesses have the ability to register phone numbers.” That Organization → Business → numbers hierarchy is what a vendor managing client numbers needs.
First Orion states three limits on the API path — network, ownership and access — in its own words. First, the network. First Orion’s API announcement (2026-06-08) says “Currently, the Business Number Registration API supports registrations on the T-Mobile network.” The product page echoes it: “API access supports T-Mobile registrations only.” Second, ownership. The same announcement says “Businesses must have the right-to-use each phone number” submitted through the API.
Third, access needs a contract. Among the six pre-requisites First Orion’s developer guide lists (read 2026-09-03), three are access gates: a “First Orion Branded Communications agreement,” “Access to First Orion Customer Portal” and “Vetted and Approved Organization” status. The rest are integration how-tos.
The same guide lists the vetting statuses APPROVED, UNDER_REVIEW, PENDING and REJECTED. It notes a website is “required for vetting with some networks.” A client without a website can stall at vetting with the networks that require one. A client whose right-to-use cannot be verified is not registered at all (2026-06-08 announcement).
The Free Caller Registry’s Review step rules client numbers out by its own terms. Anyone registering on behalf of another business is told to contact the call protection providers directly. That rule, with the checkbox that enforces it, is quoted line by line in our Free Caller Registry guide. It is why client-number registrations end up at this API rather than at freecallerregistry.com.
One boundary on our side: SIPNEX does not register numbers with First Orion or any other engine on a customer’s behalf. The Organization is yours. What we own is the trunk — A-level signing and local DIDs.
First Orion vs the Free Caller Registry vs Hiya
| First Orion Free Number Registration | Free Caller Registry | Hiya Number Registration | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who may register | Businesses via the portal; the API “enables businesses and BPOs to automate high-volume number registrations” | Only “businesses that make calls on their own behalf” (Review step, read 2026-09-01) | Employees of “their own business/employer”; BPO exception if the business “directly leases the phone numbers” and “is involved in the origination of phone calls” |
| Networks addressed | “T-Mobile and AT&T” (FAQ); the API is T-Mobile only | First Orion, Hiya and TNS from one form — the three engines Hiya’s 2023-08-02 map pairs with T-Mobile, AT&T and Verizon | Hiya’s analytics — AT&T, per Hiya’s engine-to-carrier map (blog.hiya.com, 2023-08-02) |
| Stated timing | Confirmation “within minutes”; registered “within days” | None published on the pages read | Verification “can take up to 24 hours”; changes take “a few additional days” to propagate |
| Bulk path | Business Number Registration API | One form reaching all three engines; number and file limits in the Free Caller Registry guide | Not stated on the pages read |
| Cost | Portal registration free — “Register Your Numbers for Free”; the API requires a Branded Communications agreement (cost not stated) | Free | Free — “a free service for businesses of any size” |
| Where to start | firstorion.com/products/free-number-registration | freecallerregistry.com/fcr | hiya.com/products/connect/number-registration |
Verified 2026-09-01 against the live pages: firstorion.com (product page, FAQ, developer docs, API blog), freecallerregistry.com/fcr (home and Review step), hiya.com (account FAQ and number-registration page). The firstorion.com pages were re-read 2026-09-03.
Which of these three portals a given caller type may use — own-behalf business, BPO, dialer vendor, reseller, enterprise — is the hub’s decision table. It is sorted row by row at business phone number registration.
Free registration vs INFORM branded calling vs AFFIRM
First Orion sells more than the free program. Three of its products touch the same outbound numbers a business registers: INFORM, AFFIRM and SENTRY. The table sets them beside the free program, in First Orion’s own words. Its Products menu also lists ENRICH branded messaging, PROTECT+ risk detection and Communication Protection for Carriers. Those fall outside this page’s scope.
| First Orion product | What First Orion’s own pages say it is | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Free Number Registration | Business verification plus number registration that “ensures proper number labeling across T-Mobile and AT&T” (FAQ) | Free |
| INFORM Branded Calling | First Orion’s branded calling solution. The product page places it after free registration, calls it “our most popular product that puts your business name on every call” and carries the tagline “Put your name on every call” | Paid |
| AFFIRM | Number monitoring. The product strip reads “Monitor your business’s outbound calls to protect against spam or scam”; the FAQ pairs it with calling best practices | Paid |
| SENTRY | Call blocking against spoofing of your own numbers. The product strip reads “Block bad actors from spoofing your number”; the FAQ calls it “First Orion’s call blocking solution” | Not stated on the pages read |
Verified 2026-09-01 and re-read 2026-09-03 against the live pages: firstorion.com/products/free-number-registration (the three steps, the INFORM next step and the product strip carrying, among others, the INFORM, AFFIRM and SENTRY taglines) and firstorion.com/frequently-asked-questions (registration scope, AFFIRM, SENTRY and the branded calling answers). The Products menu naming ENRICH, PROTECT+ and Communication Protection for Carriers was checked 2026-09-04.
If you searched “first orion branded calling,” INFORM is that product. Free Number Registration is the no-cost step the product page places before it. It is not a lighter version of branded calling. The product page draws the line itself: “Phone number registration is the first step toward improving your outbound call display, but if you want to make your calls even more trusted, you need INFORM.” Which portal you may register through is a separate question. The “Who may register” row of the First Orion vs Free Caller Registry vs Hiya table above answers it.
Branded calling changes the calling experience on the customer’s screen, not the label engine behind it. First Orion’s FAQ says a branded call “displays your business name, logo, and/or call reason on the recipient’s phone screen.”
The problem it targets is calls from unknown numbers going unanswered: “When customers see an unknown number, they often ignore it.” First Orion’s pitch is that showing who is calling and why increases answer rates and builds customer trust. Its FAQ lists “higher answer rates” among the benefits of a branded call. Those are First Orion’s marketing claims, quoted as such; we have not measured them.
Frequently asked questions
What is First Orion?
First Orion is a call-analytics company. Its scoring informs how partner wireless networks label calls — on T-Mobile, as “Scam Likely.” Its FAQ names “T-Mobile, Verizon, Boost Mobile, and AT&T” among the carriers it supports. It jointly backs the Free Caller Registry with Hiya and TNS. It runs its own Free Number Registration and Customer Portal, and offers INFORM branded calling, AFFIRM monitoring and SENTRY call blocking. It is not a carrier or a government body.
Is First Orion legit?
Yes. First Orion is a legitimate call-analytics provider. It is one of the three companies the Free Caller Registry is “brought to you by,” and Hiya’s engine-to-carrier map (blog.hiya.com, 2023-08-02) names it as T-Mobile’s analytics engine. Registration itself costs nothing — First Orion’s product page is headed “Register Your Numbers for Free.” Its paid products include INFORM Branded Calling and AFFIRM monitoring; the table above compares them with SENTRY call blocking.
Which carriers does First Orion number registration cover?
First Orion’s free number registration covers two carriers, T-Mobile and AT&T. Its FAQ says the program “ensures proper number labeling across T-Mobile and AT&T.” The API is narrower. The product page says “API access supports T-Mobile registrations only,” and the 2026-06-08 API blog says “Currently, the Business Number Registration API supports registrations on the T-Mobile network.” Verizon labels come from TNS and are disputed at voicespamfeedback.com/vsf, not through First Orion.
How long does First Orion number registration take?
First Orion number registration is confirmed within minutes and completed within days, by First Orion’s own wording: “most businesses receive registration confirmation within minutes” (FAQ) and “Within days, your number will be registered” (product page). The “less than 5 minutes” line refers to getting started, not to registration. First Orion states nothing more precise. So confirm on a T-Mobile handset rather than trusting the portal alone — the caller ID test walkthrough shows how.
First Orion vs Hiya registration: what is the difference?
The difference is network and eligibility. First Orion registration addresses “T-Mobile and AT&T,” and its API serves “businesses and BPOs” (First Orion FAQ). Hiya registration feeds Hiya’s analytics — AT&T, per Hiya’s engine-to-carrier map (blog.hiya.com, 2023-08-02). A Hiya account is for employees registering “their own business/employer.” Its BPO exception applies only when the registrant “directly leases the phone numbers” and “is involved in the origination of phone calls” (Hiya account FAQ, read 2026-09-01).
What is First Orion branded calling?
First Orion branded calling is INFORM, its paid branded calling solution. It puts the business name and a call reason on the recipient’s screen; INFORM with Logo adds the logo. The product page calls it “our most popular product that puts your business name on every call.” It is a separate purchase from Free Number Registration, which the same page places before it as “the first step toward improving your outbound call display.” First Orion says the display increases answer rates and builds customer trust; those are its claims, quoted as such.
Where is the First Orion login for the Customer Portal?
The First Orion Customer Portal login is at portal.firstorion.com. If you have never registered, start at firstorion.com/products/free-number-registration instead. Creating the Customer Portal account is step one of the free flow, so there is nothing to log into until that step is done. Portal access is also one of the API’s stated prerequisites.
The account at portal.firstorion.com stays in your name. The attestation on each call is set by the carrier that signs it. SIPNEX signs at A-level with its own STIR/SHAKEN certificate and is registered in the FCC Robocall Mitigation Database — ask an operator how A-level signing pairs with your First Orion registration, (833) 665-2220.
Keep reading.
The carrier built by operators, for operators.
FCC-licensed carrier with its own STIR/SHAKEN SP certificate. Operator-owned. SIP trunks built for operators who dial at volume.